Be proud of your marriage

I work with a lot of single guys and it never ceases to amaze me how often I have to listen to snide remarks about the ‘old ball and chain.’  Marriage can be a great thing.  I am a far better person married than I ever was single!  I enjoyed my single life, but the level of happiness I share with my spouse is far greater than anything I could ever have if I was single.  That’s why I always make it a point to refute ‘ball and chain’ comments by informing people that I enjoy being married and am a better person because my spouse is in my life.  Marriage too often gets a bad rap due to the imagined actions of a stereotypical ‘nagging wife’ and it’s important that you counter those accusations.  If you don’t, you may start believing what people are saying.  People are susceptible to the idea of self-fulfilling prophecies, which in this case means someone tells you that marriage is a bad thing, which causes you to think about it, which causes you to pay undue attention to the bad things, which in turn makes your marriage bad.  Often when people say disparaging things about their marriage it’s because it’s what they believe is expected of them.  Don’t let yourself fall victim to this perceived expectation.  Be proud of your marriage and don’t be ashamed to stand up and say it!

Published in: on October 29, 2009 at 6:54 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://artofmarriage.wordpress.com/2009/10/29/be-proud-of-your-marriage/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

